databases

If you could have three library wishes, what would they be?

Contact:

  • Library operations
  • Library policies
  • Exhibits in the Library
  • Practicum or Service Learning opportunities
Melissa De Santis, MLIS, AHIP

303-724-1748
303-724-2162 fax
melissa.desantis@ucdenver.edu

First Wish Second Wish Third Wish Library Comments Tags

Dropbox for return books around the campus! Please!

there is a lot of medical and biology books from Springer, but we don't have access to. It will be great if we can purchase Springer access.

no third wish, our library rocks!

collection requests, databases, facility,
First Wish Second Wish Third Wish Library Comments Tags

Ability to use UpToDate mobile application. Having to go through proxy process and use browser version is to clunky to be feasible in a clinical situation

More textbooks that medical students need

More practical board review materials (First Aid, qbanks, etc.)

Wish 1 - The UpToDate mobile app is now available! Wish 2 - we received a list of required textbooks for 1st year medical students. We owned all but a couple are working to order them now.

collection requests, databases, textbooks, website, wishes granted,
First Wish Second Wish Third Wish Library Comments Tags

Get more books and have a wider range of books. I would model it after the NC State library system: http://lib.ncsu.edu/. They have an interlibrary loan system called "Tripsaver" where you can borrow books from other libraries.

Subscribe to Springer Protocols. I would like to see Current Protocols in Protein Science.

Have a nicer library that incorporates newer technology as well as technology lending.

collection requests, computers, databases, interlibrary loan (ILL),
First Wish Second Wish Third Wish Library Comments Tags

Keep Up-To-Date and other web databases. They are extremely valuable in my education.

You are a library. While I realize that there is a very specific mission of a health sciences library towards catering to services that directly impact health and science education, you are none-the-less a pivotal access point to pleasure media as well. Your options in this regard are limited. I would like to see a subscription to a digital music/media service (example Rhapsody, Spotify, XM radio etc.) that could be readily accessed. Maintaining mental health and a balanced life style are stressed in every aspect of our education and having access to one of these services via a central means represents a large building block towards making this a reality and would demonstrate the university commitment to promoting this balance through more than words.

With so many listserves on campus and announcements, it's hard to tell what's actually going on on campus. It would be nice if there was a short 10-15 minute podcast that can summarize some of the major happenings on campus that could be listened to on the way to campus. I find it kind of embarrassing when people ask about something in the news from campus, but honestly it's just hard to organize everything because there is so much going on. This would be especially valuable to students who are looking for an in or a place to start regarding somebody for projects and opportunities, etc. Navigating the healthcare world can be difficult but building a sense of community on campus may be a great way to promote education and collaboration.

collection requests, databases, relaxation,
First Wish Second Wish Third Wish Library Comments Tags

Lexus Nexus access through our library!!! This would be soooo incredibly helpful for economic and policy papers we work on through the school of public health

more public health resources and help. Currently, the knowledge and resources are very clinically driven that there isn't a lot of support for researchers in more sociological/public health research fields.

support for other reference management systems including zotero, or cheaper software than EndNote

collection requests, computer software classes, databases, literature searches, reference management,
Subscribe to databases
Health Sciences Library | University of Colorado Denver
Mail Stop A003, 12950 E. Montview Blvd., Aurora, CO 80045, USA Tel: 303-724-2152
20:29