Rotating Exhibits

Fitzsimons

On Exhibit: November 2015 to November 2016
Location: Second Floor Exhibit Area by the south elevators
Health Sciences Library

The CU Anschutz Medical Campus is located on the former Fitzsimons Army Base, closed in 1999. Fitzsimons was opened in 1918, and was named in honor of Lt. Thomas Fitzsimons, of the Army Medical Corps, who was the first US officer killed in the First World War. The hospital was opened to care for returning soldiers who suffered from respiratory disease. The Base remained a key Army Medical Center until its closure and the iconic main hospital, known as Building 500, is still the center of the campus.

Visit the second floor to further explore the history of Fitzsimons and view artifacts from its Army Medical Corps past.
Read the blog post

Fitzsimons Exhibit at the Health Sciences Library


 

Surgical kits

Surgical kit

An exhibit of a 1858 U.S. Army surgical kit and a modern military surgical kit from the Library's artifact collection.

Artifacts donated by Dr. Carl E. Bartecchi

Artifacts

Located in the third floor Special Collections Room